Nordic Music Prize:

Montée and Ane Brun final nominees

by Webmaster, 01.12.2011

Montée and Ane Brun are among the final nominees for the Nordic Music Prize.

The Nordic Music Prize is an award for best Nordic album 2011. The prize will be presented during by:Larm in Oslo, Thursday February the 16th, in Kulturkirken Jakob (Jakob, Church of Culture).

The final nominees for the sophomore Nordic Music Prize have now been presented. The following 12 albums are the nominees for Best Nordic Album 2011:

• Ane Brun – It All Starts With One
• Lykke Li – Wounded Rhymes
• Rubik – Solar
• Gus Gus – Arabian Horse
• Malk De Koijn – Toback To The Fromtime
• Siinai – Olympic Game
• Björk – Biophilia
• Iceage – New Brigade
• Montée – Renditions Of You
• Anna Järvinen – Anna Själv Tredje
• Goran Kajfes – X/Y
• The Field – Looping state of mind

Statement from the jury:

“The jury agrees that it has been a very strong year for Nordic music, even stronger than 2010. The Nordic countries definitely have something in common, and the Nordic music territory is one of the strongest in Europe now, only England can compete. And that is something to be proud of.

The output from each country was very even in terms of quality, with a big healthy variety of genres from leftfield punk to avant garde jazz, and also artists from several generations. Established acts and debut artists competing on the same level.

And a very strong year for female artists as well, with Lykke Li, Björk, Ane Brun and Anna Järvinen.”

The jury that will decide the winner:

Rob Young – Author of the new book Electric Eden, former editor of The Wire, now writer for Uncut and The Wire.
Andres Lokko – Scandianavias most influential music writer. Now based in London. Writes for Svenska Dagbladet.
Laurence Bell – Owner of Domino Records
Jeannette Lee – Former member of P.I.L. Owner of Rough Trade Records with Geoff Travis. Manager of Pulp and Jarvis Cocker.
Mike Pickering – Former Factory Records employee, now A&R at Columbia Records UK.
Zach Kelly – Washington, D.C.-based freelance music journalist and critic. Regular contributor at and Paper magazine.
Jonathan Galkin – founder and owner of DFA Records.

belongs in

Share this

Printer friendly